RSS

vCenter Server Upgrade Gotchas

28 Feb

We have a sandbox virtual center with a couple hosts in it to test things just like the 5.5 to 6 upgrade we were ready to start. This vCenter has been rebuilt from scratch a few times and doesn’t really have any complexity to it. So when we went to upgrade it, of course it went fine.

The next vCenter I tried to upgrade was at our DR location. Fortunately, I took a backup of the OS and database, because this time I ran into several issues.

administrator@vsphere.local password

This password had expired which is required for setup to continue. There is a database hack available that I have used to extend this timeout value inside the RSA database but it wasn’t working this time. The utility vdcadmintool.exe is documented here and quite easy to use to get a new password. It is just a cmd line utility that will spit out a random password. A great reason to lockdown who has Windows Administrator on your vCenter Server.

VIEW SERVER STATE permission on the database

There are only a few options to select and the install starts.

In previous versions, we have allowed the service account defined in the ODBC connect to have db_owner. This grants every permission inside the database but nothing at the server level. It turns out v6 requires a server level permission called VIEW SERVER STATE.

Here is another KB.

Rollback Gotchas

After this error was hit, a rollback process was started. Rollback doesn’t put 5.5 back in place at the filesystem level so you need more than just a database backup. Part of our operating system restore procedures require an ISO to be mounted. But since vcenter was down, I couldn’t mount that iso. I had to look in the database and find what host the vCenter VM was running on and connect directly to it with the thick client. There is a VPX_HOSTS view that makes this fairly simple to find what host to connect to.

The restore process also requires us to add a NIC but distributed switches were not available to select in the dropdown. I had to create a standard switch on this host and assign that to the VM so vlan tagging could happen.

After the OS restore and database restore I was able to connect to vcenter 5.5.

Inventory service broken

The next time I tried the install I wasn’t able to start it. There was an error complaining about the inventory service. I checked this by trying to search for a VM in the thick client and, sure enough, it was broken. I’m guessing this was due to the restore but a restart didn’t seem to fix it. I went searching and found another KB to reset the inventory service. There is a handy powershell script at the bottom to speed this lengthy process along.

Logon failure: unknown user name or bad password.

After the restore, I did have to reset the administrator account again. I got a strange password that started with a space, but it worked in the web console so I tried again. The next go at the install died with this message:

Error 1326 while creating SSO group “ComponentManager.Administrators”:dir-cli failed. Error 1326: Logon failure: unknown user name or bad password.

The error had a very strange ” ,” with extra line breaks around it. There seemed to be a parsing error. This error left my vcenter a steaming pile, so I applied the backups and tried again with a new administrator password. I wasn’t able to confirm but I am pretty sure I got really unlucky and that space at the beginning of the password caused an install fail. No KBs for that one.

Success… Almost!

This upgrade can take around 30 minutes so I was very delighted to finally see a successful message at the end. I was able to log into the thick client and see VMs. However, my web client was giving me a permission problem even when I was logged in as the administrator@vsphere.local account.

You do not have permissions to view this object or this object does not exist

I ended up calling support on this one and they showed me to a registry hack. I’m not sure how this happens but an important service account registry key for a path can get overwritten.

Good Luck!

Hopefully this list helps save someone some grief. vCenter is a complex product with a lot of interconnected services. I’m not terribly unhappy with my upgrade experience. I probably would have had a better time if I had read through all of the best practices. Even though it doesn’t run on MS SQL, I’ll be seriously considering migrating to the appliance version of vCenter after we get completely upgraded.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 28, 2016 in Virtual

 

Leave a Reply

 
