RSS

SQLPass Day 2,3,4,5,6,7

06 Nov

Definitely thought I was going to take some time out of each day to recap. Turns out that was a little ambitious.

SQLKaraoke Sunday night was my first experience with Bush Garden. If you are ever in a situation where you are trying to decide to be the 5th dude in a cab to go sing until morning, just say yes. Mrs. Bush says its ok. Thats all I have to say about that.

See, no 's'

See, no ‘s’

Monday was a recovery day. I transferred from my AirBnB to the Sheraton. $199/night was a fair rate for a nice hotel right next to the conference center.

Tuesday was my pre-con. I originally had talked with a co-worker about what pre-con we were going to attend and I recommended he check out Kimberly’s session since I have seen a small condensed version already. I attended the enterprise scripting workshop by the Midnight DBAs.

MidnightDBAs

MidnightDBAs

The sessions I attended were:

Wednesday
SQL Server 2016 on Flash
SQLCAT: SQL Server HA DR Customer panel

HADR_panel

Overview of Azure SQL Data Warehouse

Thursday
The Plan Cache Whisperer

What a strange room for Jason's presentation...

What a strange room for Jason’s presentation…

Whats new In Reporting Services 2016

Datazen baked right into Reporting Services, lots of applause

Datazen baked right into Reporting Services, lots of applause


Inside Wait Types, Latches, and Spinlocks

Friday
SQL Server on Flash: Re-Thinking Best Practices
FusionIO

Part of Glenn’s DMV talk
Analysis Services: Show Me Where It Hurts
Advanced Indexing
Datazen Technical Depp Dive

Advanced indexing was a great session, but I think I have to give a slight edge to Jason’s Plan Cache Whisperer if I had to pick a favorite. Jimmy is also a great presenter and he had lots of the information on modern flash I was looking for.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 6, 2015 in PASS

 

Leave a Reply

 
