RSS

Cisco Live 2015 San Diego Recap

03 Jul

This was an impressive conference! Photo Alubum

I flew in Sunday and enjoyed a day getting familiar with sunny San Diego and getting a good nights rest before my test Monday morning. I passed the CCENT exam after a grueling month of preparation. I’m not sure what direction I will take with my Cisco certifications, but the CCNA Data Center track looks appealing and has some overlap with what I have already learned.

The number and quality of sessions makes me consider this conference one of the best I have attended. I’ve been to VMworld, EMC World, SQL Rally and SQL Connections and this one ranks at the top for overall quality. I’d recommend it to anyone remotely close to managing a network.

I focused on storage networking, security and UCS for the sessions I attended. I was able to get some time at the whiteboard with a Fiber Channel expert who helped me walk through a possible upgrade path. In the storage networking sessions I had some interesting discussions about flash arrays with my peers. Looks like a lot of people are getting into testing “seed” units that were provided for free.

The conference food was just ok but the exibit hall had some good appetizers and drinks. The Gas Lamp Quater is a hotbed of excellent restaurants including Fogo De Chao which well worth my $70 for dinner. The entertainment was great. OK GO opened up the conference keynote and Areosmith rocked Petco park. Mike Rowe had some hilarious stories and a good closing message.

I like to travel and learn about technology. Its always re-invigorating to attend a conference and I hope there are many more in my future.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 3, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
