RSS

My favorite posts from 2012

27 Dec

My all time favorite post happened in 2012: https://nujakcities.wordpress.com/2012/11/25/im-speaking/

This was my first PASS speaking engagement and pretty big milestone for me. Fact is, I really just found a topic that I am truly passionate about. I don’t get to practice hacking at work so it is really a second life for me. If you want to take a journey to the dark side, here are some of my favorite posts on hacking.

There was one other topic I enjoyed writing about, statistics. I imagine this is because one of our main production servers had some issues finding bad query plans because of stale statistics. Whenever I spend that much time at work digging into a problem it gives me a lot to write about.

I took another leap this year and started adding and suggesting indexes. I had always considered this a design issue (ie: not my problem) but sometimes things get pretty bad. I have access to all the tools to sift through an environment of over 100 SQL Servers and find the worst offenders. This year I actually had some success with that process.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
