RSS

HP ENVY dv6-7247cl 48 hour review

24 Nov

No matter what you say about Black Friday, I still believe. I believe its a great day for America, and it’s a great day for deals.

http://www.samsclub.com/sams/hp-15-6-dv6-laptop-15-6-core-i7-bf/prod7930392.ip?navAction=

My wife and I have never really liked our 17″ Gateway laptop. The size is our main complaint. It only fits in one of our several carrying cases. The power adapter didn’t hold up to the wear and tear that mobile computers are known for. The battery only lasted about 2 hours on it’s best charge. And more recently I needed more memory to run virtual machines.

I had been shopping for a laptop for my Sister so I knew what was available. Without too much thought we saw a Black Friday ad in the Sam’s Club flyer and picked up an HP ENVY dv6. Well, I should thank my wife for waiting in line for 50 minutes to pick this up for me while I was in the woods hunting.

sexy

I was a little hesitant to go with HP. Ever since their tablet flop I haven’t heard much about their hardware. But my other favorite PC brand DELL hasn’t been all that great either. Similar specs for a DELL would have been at least $200 more. So I was quite happy with a $600 laptop that had in it an i7 and 8GB of RAM.

I had many reservations about Windows 8. We’ve had a Windows 8 box at work so we could get used to it but I have avoided it like the plague. I usually dive right into new tech but I’ve had a lot on my plate so this HP is my first real hands on experience with Windows 8.

The smell of new PC really gets my motor running. I fired it up and answered a few question that were normal Windows install questions. I didn’t really care for the lingo while I was waiting. “Please wait while we do some things”… really “things”. I liked the fact that it showed a quick intro video while the install was running. I wish it would have covered some more stuff.

The hardware itself is sexy. I think HP has always been a little more attractive than most PCs. But, just like a cheerleader from 300 level seats, this one is good from far… but far from good. The sides and bottom are plasticy while the top surfaces are a evenly brushed metal. It’s a little larger and heavier than I expected. I think this is an area for improvement.

After the fairly lengthy install process of Windows 8 I logged in and noticed right away the touchpad leaves a little bit to be desired. It is a little jumpy. One tweak that made it better was increasing the mouse speed. It took me forever to find the control panel. Turns out that short video in the beginning and the search button is quite helpful.

The keyboard looks awkward but actually works very well. There are spaces between the keys but that actually helps quite a bit and debris doesn’t get caught in there very easily. The keyboard is not backlit but if you angle the monitor down a bit that is not a problem.

I installed VMWare Player and setup a Win2012/SQL2012 vm. I had to get into the bios (f10) and enable the VT-d support. That allows me to run 64bit vms which my old laptop did not even though it was a 64bit processor.

I like the new file transfer meter, the estimates seem a bit more accurate at first glance. During the install of sql I popped open the resource monitor and noticed 40ms response times on the hard disk. SSD was one feature I wanted but I figured I could upgrade later. I’m not sure what I’ve got for extra bays but I may have to splurge on that sooner rather than later. O well, at least I won’t have to be that prudent with the 700GB c: drive.

My sister mentioned to me she had read that the HP wireless cards are not good and drop connections all the time. I’m happy to report that hasn’t happened once (yet) on two different routers.

The screen in glorious. Out of the box the max resolution is 1366×768. That causes a slight problem because the min resolution on server 2012 is 1024×768 so unless the vm is in full screen mode it requires scrolling.

The battery life meter has been quite accurate. A fresh charge was reporting about 5 hours of life. I’ve switched the power plan over to high performance and I might have to find myself a toggle widget for that.

The AC adapter is poorly positioned for an right handed external mouser. The AC adapter also feels pretty cheap in general, wouldn’t be surprised if I have to replace that within a year. It is fairly small which is convenient for travel.

HP Beats audio leaves a bit to be desired… but I suppose that is my own fault. When I was young I was really into bass. I was the jerk who shook the china off your walls when he drove by. I quickly grew out of that phase but have always maintained a taste for the finer sub woofers in life. There is a tiny little “sub woofer” in the bottom of the laptop that probably helps with marketing. Granted, this is the best sounding laptop I’ve heard. It does create some convenience to maybe streaming a movie while relaxing in bed and not have to hook up speakers or headphones.

The DVD tray is flimsy piece of crap… I’ll probably have to fix that at some point in the next year. I like the convenience of having a DVD drive and noticed some of the slimmer laptops didn’t have one. Given the choice now I might consider going optical drive less. Also, no blue-ray… I don’t own a blue-ray player yet but haven’t really needed one since I can stream movies and shows from my xbox.

The HP bloatware is off the charts.

I uninstalled Norton and Office trial right away. Some of the other things I will have to do some research on later. I uninstalled “simple pass” which kept re-pinning itself to the quick launch bar. Turns out this might be the biometric software and I should have left it be.

Overall this is a great value for a powerful laptop. I have enjoyed it thus far and stay tuned for more posts that include tips, tweaks, complaints and praises for the HP ENVY dv6.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2012 in Hardware

 

Tags: ,

19 responses to “HP ENVY dv6-7247cl 48 hour review

  1. Vince

    November 24, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    Thank you very much for this review. I too have purchased this laptop and currently waiting for its delivery. I was sad to read it did not have a Blue Ray. Although it did not say it in the specs, it shows the laptop does have it in the pictures. I will be standing by for more of your great information.

     
  2. Farhan Zafar

    November 25, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    Hi, even I have purchased this laptop through my sister who is in States. It sounded great deal. I was wondering if I can change the keyboard to a backlit one, if yes please let me know the part number of it.

    Rest looking forward to more review and details from you

     
  3. Dominic

    November 26, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    Does the DVD try look a little down on the right hand side? like not flush like the other side? Also, any idea how to see if the num lock is on or off?

     
    • nujakcities

      November 27, 2012 at 5:59 pm

      Yes, it’s exactly like that, hanging down on the right side. The tray button isn’t very easy to press and it slides out clumsily. And yes, no num lock light that I can see, caps has a nice in key light. I also don’t like that prt sc is right next to the airplane mode button.

       
  4. onur

    November 29, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    You say you un installed Norton rightaway.what antivirus did you install instead?

     
  5. Paula

    December 3, 2012 at 12:49 am

    I’ve never owned a notebook/laptop before (always a desktop). I have a 26″ monitor I’ve hooked up via hdmi. Problem is, I have to keep the notebook’s screen open to keep the computer on, so I have to slant the notebook’s monitor down. Is that the only way to use an external monitor and keyboard? Any way to close the top of the notebook and keep it on? Thanks so much in advance for helping out a notebook newbie.

     
  6. Paula

    December 3, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    Vince, Thank you SO much! I see that’s where a bunch of other settings are, too (haven’t gotten that far yet or I’d have found it). Again, thank you!

     
  7. vishnu

    December 4, 2012 at 12:44 am

    I too purchased the same laptop waiting for the delivery 🙂

     
  8. Angela

    December 11, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    I have an older version that I just purchased from someone and am trying to remove the administrator name ( their name not mine ) … Does anyone know how I would do that? I want to put my 11 year olds name since it is a gift for him.

     
  9. Angela

    December 11, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    I should add my version is HP envy Beats 13

     
  10. don

    January 8, 2013 at 2:33 pm

    Hey guys i lost the recovery partition of tis laptop can any one upload files .. i know its a big file but i cant get it from us …so dnt mind

     
  11. David Samaniego

    April 1, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    Hi to everyone… I bought this laptop (7247cl) on February (I’m from Paraguay), and at the beginning it showed me like “5 hours” left of battery.. but lately, it’s only showing me like “2:30” hours left sometimes… and those times I just watch movies in WMP. Or even, today for example, I was running Visual Studio 2012 on my computer, and my battery lasted barely only 2 hours… Is that normal?? I would really like some kind of answer, so to know what I’ll have to do to solve this problem… Thanks in advance for your answers…

     
    • nujakcities

      April 13, 2013 at 5:03 pm

      2 hours sounds pretty bad. You must be a hardcore programmer :] I have yet to contact support for this laptop but that is what I would recommend. They probably won’t replace it but they might be able to give you some tips. I’ve heard of people having success fully depleting the battery to the point you don’t get any response when you try to turn it on. Then charge it completely to get a little bit more life out of it.

      I was getting about 4-5 hours but now I’m getting about 3-4 hours. I have a work laptop with an extended batt (it sticks out the back a bit). It lasts 6-8 hours which is amazing.

       
      • David Samaniego

        April 13, 2013 at 6:39 pm

        First of all, thanks for the answer. I already called HP Support, and I followed their instructions, but as a comment, the person who gave me support had a dv7, with the same battery as our model, and he told me that he usually uses kind of “heavy” audio editing software, and the battery would only last for 2 hours at the most. The next day I got the support, I depleted my battery, in order to calibrate (‘cos in W8 you can’t just do it by pressing a “calibrate” button). Anyway, my battery would only last for 2 hours and a few minutes with Visual Studio working, kind of 3 hours with Dreamweaver, but more than 4 hours if I only work with a pdf reader, MS Word and sometimes connecting to Internet.
        By the way, what do you mean by “extended battery”? And how do I get it?? Does HP sell ’em??

         
      • nujakcities

        April 15, 2013 at 4:14 pm

        By extended battery I mean a physically larger battery that has more cells and sticks out the back or bottom a little farther than the stock battery. I’ve never bought anything from atbatt but I would recommend an after market battery mostly because it will be much cheaper than name brand. Since you bought the HP laptop I assume you are into bargains. http://www.atbatt.com/product/23110/laptop/hp/pavilion-dv6/battery#tabs

         
  12. Sean

    August 28, 2013 at 7:14 pm

    I recently bought this laptop. Everything has been great but like you mentioned the dvd tray is filmsy. I’ll be typing and it will make noises. If i hold it up it will stop making the noises. Have you found a solution that isnt that obtrusive or am i going to have to eventually send it to have it fixed?

     
    • nujakcities

      August 30, 2013 at 5:23 pm

      Nope, I haven’t found a solution. I didn’t experience the noise when typing, I’m sure that could get annoying.

       

Leave a Reply

 
