RSS

Build Your Own PC

30 Oct

I built my first PC when I was 16 years old. So here is the list of computers that I have owned:

1. Something dos era with a turbo 33/66 button. I primarily used this to play the wolfenstien 3d demo.
2. A windows 3.1 box… 386 era with a dot matrix printer. I used this for some school papers but mostly the game doom.
3. Pentium 200MHz gateway pc. massive 17in CRT was key for “homework”
4. Into high school now I picked out a Dell computer that I used for ages. It was a pentium 2 400MHz with 128MB of ram and a 10GB HD. Windows 98 style. I played online games such as Quake 2 on this beast.
5. Built my first PC for a friend. It cost about $1000 and was similar to my dell that the parents paid $1500+ for.
6. Bought a P4 dell laptop for college
7. Bought a used P4 Dell optiplex for $200
8. Bought a compaq P4 for $20 and refurbed it and ended up selling that one rather quickly.
9. An AMD home built form a friend for $700, 22in flat panel monitor.
10. Bought an old IBM NetVista – converted it to this linux web server
11. Used Gateway core 2 duo laptop for my wife, nice high def capability with HDMI out
12. A xbox/ xbox 360/ and droid 2 if you count those…
13. And this beast…

Item Price Description
Proc 211.99 Intel Core i7-930 Processor
Case 70.98 Cooler Master Storm Scount
PS 52.98 Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650W power supply
SSD 188.99 OCZ Vertex 2 OCZSSD2-2VTXE120G 120GB SATA II
MoBo 159.99 ASUS Sabertooth X58 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX
RAM 114.99 G.SKILL 6GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM 1600Mhz
Vid 109.99 PowerColor AX5770 1GBD5-H Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1
fan 26.98 Cooler Master Hyper 212 plus Cooler

Finding the best deals and parts that will work well together is the hardest part. Putting the thing together is a piece of cake. If you haven’t built one is a while just don’t forget CPUs have separate power plugs on the mobo now. Also, try not to get the CPU coolant compound all over the place.
I had an issue with the OCZ Mail-In-Rebate not falling into the purchase date range that Newegg said it would. Newegg wouldn’t give me the money back up they did give me a credit for the amount of the MIR.

The i7 with hyper threading presents 8 processors to Windows 7. The sweetest thing about it is how quiet it is without a hard drive(s) grinding away. It ranks a 7.4 of 7.9 on the Windows Experience Index benchmark. Similar Dell PCs cost over $2000 so you can save a bundle building you own.

http://www.slickdeals.net is where I found deals for most of the components. I managed to keep this thing under $1000 not counting the monitors. Newegg, Frys and Microcenter had everything I needed at the lowest price.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
